在等待一场错过: Hong Kong

2019年01月10日 - 03月18日

香港狮语画廊呈献德国艺术家马克斯•赫克尔十三幅作品。过去,艺术世界没有既定架构,因而令人著迷,到了今天却变得高度学术化。马克斯的创作以本能和直觉感知的取向就这现象提出诘问,以当代的手法追求自由。

他一直追求能使世人停下来的一条线。他作画的方式,与你看到他的画作时感受到的并无二致,同样急促而带劲、整体有排山倒海之势。可是,就在当中,有这么一条线、一捺笔、一个姿态,令时间突然静止。他透过组合和拆解、加上色块和放大细部,对维度和图案进行不同实验性尝试。重覆、再重覆,却突然止住。耐性是关键。

“你赶不上巴士。但原来是故意的?因为你看到了宣传超巨型卡车展的广告牌,多部赫赫有名的卡车正聚集于附近的赞德沃特。然后你嗅到了,整个城市瀰著汽油的气味。你吸一口气,让它在肺内打转,与煤尘混为一体。你尝试感受它的重量。马克斯慢慢抬头,看着巴士关上门。他倒数10、9、8、7、6...,目送巴士远去。他从四方八面以不同速度狙击,或沉穏缓慢,或迅疾蔟拥而至,就像他从最爱的22路巴士望出车窗外那流走的景致的一般。在走马上寻花。我坐车时,常常冀望在飞逝而过的树丛里找著一只驼鹿或甚么动物之类。这是我在居住的小岛上的娱乐。”


-Nicolina Eklund, 艺术家、画家,写于2018年11月

Waiting for the Bus to Miss It | Max Huckle Solo Exhibition: Hong Kong

10 January - 28 February 2019

Leo Gallery is pleased to present 13 paintings by Max Huckle.   In the past what attracted people to the art world was how unstructured it was.  Now it is highly academic.  Max Huckle is someone whose practice questions in this direction with a perceptual style and instinct. This contemporary engagement is a strive for liberty.

 

Max is looking for that one line that will stop the world.   The way he works is the same way you look at his paintings.  It is hasty, powerful and overwhelming.   But then there is that line, that stoke, that gesture which stops the time.   Assembling and dissembling by adding more pieces together or magnifying smaller sections, he plays with dimensions and patterns. Repetition, repetition, then it breaks.

 

“You miss the bus, but purposely?  Because you saw a billboard promoting a monster-truck show with some legendary American trucks participating nearby in Zandvoort. Now it is in your nose. The whole town around you smells like gasoline.  You breathe in and let it twist in your lungs. It blends with the dust of charcoal.  You feel its weight.  Max looks up and sees the bus doors closing.  He counts 10, 9, 8, 7, 6... the bus is leaving.     He is attacking from all angles, with different speed.  Slow and steady, or fast and in mass. Like looking at things passing outside his favourite bus line 22.  Looking for something in a rush. When I ride, I always try to spot a moose or some other animal between the trees speeding past.  It’s a game I do on my island.”