“多樣性” 馮力仁個展 | “這邊都是事”計文于& 朱衛兵個展: Shanghai

2019年06月9日 - 07月13日

  獅語畫廊上海空間六月呈現兩位藝術家/組合雙個展:藝術家馮力仁的個展“多樣性”(Multiplicity)以及與藝術家計文于& 朱衛兵的個展“這邊都是事”(Affairs Going On!)。
  
  在獅語畫廊上海空間一樓展廳,這個位于武康庭昔日法租界的老洋房內的白盒子空間里,藝術家馮力仁帶來的7件雕塑作品營造出一個冷靜、溫暖、又克制的“多樣性”場域。
  
  生於香港、留學加拿大,在從事工程師職業多年后,馮力仁的工作重心轉向藝術創作,1993年他修畢香港大學校外課程所舉辦之現代雕塑文憑課程,同年隨唐景森先生習木雕;2014年起,他被委任為香港藝術館專家顧問;2018 年他獲得香港政府民政事務局頒發嘉許狀特予嘉許促進文化藝術方面的發展貢獻。
  
  馮力仁對于現代都市人們的生活境遇有著更多的感同身受與體悟,他的作品探討中產階層的生存狀態,以及日常所面對的挑戰。他將自身的經歷與感受融入作品,精心的刻繪和詮釋了人類的生存狀態,引發觀者共鳴。
  
  標志性的木雕作品,木頭的溫潤質感、精細的手工感、與水泥冰冷堅硬的人工特質形成強烈對比,令人聯想高樓林立和自然環境不斷被侵蝕的香港,這不僅是馮力仁所生活的香港,也是每個人所身處的這座城市。
  
  近年來,他的創作材質延展至更多不同媒介,帶來觀察社會更多的想象空間,就如本次展覽名“多樣性”所言,展現出一種對于當下城市與社會系統的多緯視角。
  
  頻繁的人口流動、高強度的生活節奏、變幻不定的生存樣式、愈來愈疏離化的交往以及浮躁的生活氣息,都使現代人容易迷失自我與方向。無疑,這是身處于城市之中人類的共性。
  
  馮力仁更像一位城市觀察者,在他看來,與居住在社區外的個體相比,觀察一群人總是相當有趣。如其自述中所言:“不可避免的是,城市越來越多元的同時,也越來越兩極化。有些人如同群居動物一樣因襲彼此的行動和思考,而有些人則煢煢孑立,卓爾不群。”
  
  他將這種對“人“細膩的觀察融入自己的作品之中,經常出現的身穿襯衣和西褲小型人物是他的象征性的形象,模糊的面部人物形象弱化著對于個體形象的認知,而網狀結構則讓人聯想起復雜的社會結構:被層層網狀結構困住的人物,就如這張社會之網,縱橫交錯著每個人生活與工作的種種瑣碎。
  
  其作品于2008年入選香港藝術中心三十周年藝術獎, 2005年入選香港藝術雙年展, 1993年入選視覺藝術協會舉辦之”視藝創明天”視覺藝術創作大賽, 1996 及1999年均入選夏利豪基會藝術比賽。藝術家曾參與多個海外、本地及內地展覽,作品在香港、內地多個商場及公共空間交流展示,被眾多私人、機構、大學及博物館收藏。
  
  計文于,1959年出生在上海。1980年畢業于上海市工藝美術學校,1988年畢業于上海輕工業專科學校裝潢美術系;朱衛兵 ,1971年生于黑龍江,計文于& 朱衛兵主要個展包括:上山·下山, 諾金酒店, 北京(2016);計文于&朱衛兵: 跟著! 跟著! 跟著!, 香格納M50, 上海(2011);舉花的人, 計文于 & 朱衛兵, 香格納M50, 上海(2007)。
  
  對于觀者而言,“通俗”與“荒誕”、 “戲謔”與“玩笑” 是計文于和朱衛兵藝術作品的表象,這些特質不僅貫穿計文于繪畫創作中 ,也體現在他與妻子朱衛兵共同合作創作的以“布”為主要材質的軟雕塑作品中。
  
  從繪畫轉向軟雕塑創作,計文于用“布”找到對于自我的挑戰與突破口:“布有它的缺陷性一面,但也凸顯了它的特點。它隨意、它隨和、它溫暖、但又不易被擺布,它有它的性情和個性,它把種種攪合在一起,并發出無窮的可能性。”
  
  成群的“人型布偶”是計文于& 朱衛兵軟雕塑作品常見的藝術形象,這些或普通日常、或戲劇化的場景式營造,不僅以一種淺顯易懂的方式演繹再現了從特殊年代延續至今的記憶圖像,獅語畫廊上海空間二樓展廳中,這些“人型布偶”所構建出的眾生相既帶來一種普通人的視角,也是當下社會中群體特性真實反映。
  
  藝術評論家、策展人馮博一曾撰文指出,計文于和朱衛兵的作品讓我們在視覺層面能獲得整體上的輕松和愉悅,但當我們沉浸于每一個看似荒唐的場景時,又可以非常鮮活生動地感受到某種人性的乖張,生存的悖謬,以及創作主體對社會現實的質疑態度:“這種荒誕方式在于他們以戲劇化的結構、形態設置了作品的語境,表達了中國現實急劇變化的游戲性、虛擬性的生存情境,同時又隱藏著 ‘存在便是一種荒誕’的思想背景。”
  
  藝術家以一種特有的詼諧幽默的方式呈現對當下社會的多維思考,這種近乎感性的創作方式同時帶來最為鮮活與真摯的表達,這些作品看似輕松隨意的背后,展現的是中國近幾十年來現代化過程中社會變遷和文化現象的微觀縮影,也是社會進程中人們的失落與狂歡、癡迷與驚醒、進步與后退。
  
  本次展覽將持續至7月13日。

Multiplicity:Fung Lik-yan Kevin Solo Exhibition | Affairs Going On! Ji Wenyu & Zhu Weibing Exhibition: Shanghai

June 9 - July 13, 2019

  Leo Gallery Shanghai is delighted to present a duo exhibition this June: Kevin Fung Lik-yan’s solo exhibition “Multiplicity” and Ji Wenyu & Zhu Weibing’s exhibition “Affairs Going On!”
  
  In the first-floor space of Leo Gallery Shanghai, the seven sculptures by artist Kevin Fung Lik-yan creates a calming, warm and restrained field of “Multiplicity” amidst the white-box pace in the Western-style Ferguson Lane in the Former French Concession.
  
  Born in Hong Kong and received education in Canada, Kevin Fung Lik-yan has decided to devote fully to his art after spending years in his trained profession of engineering. Kevin Fung obtained the Diploma of Contemporary Sculpture from University of Hong Kong in 1993, followed by his studies with the renowned sculptor Tong King Sum. He was appointed by The Leisure and Cultural Services Department of Hong Kong Government as Museum Expert Adviser on 2014, and later awarded by the Home Affairs Bureau of Hong Kong Government to compliment his contribution in promoting arts and culture.
  
  Kevin Fung Lik-yan has his own understanding of the living conditions of modern urban citizens. His art represents the daily routines of the middle class, as well as the challenges and pressures they face. With his own personal experience and feelings integrated into the work, Kevin Fung depicts the living conditions of human beings in general and evoke resonance among the audience.
  
  In his iconic woodcarvings, the warm texture of wood and the delicate feeling of hand-crafting form a strong contrast with the artificial characteristics of cement that is solid and industrial. The work reminds people of Hong Kong where Kevin Fung resides as well as many other cities where the natural environment is gradually taken over by sky-scrappers.
  
  In recent years, he has tried using different medium to create more imaginative space in observing the society. Just as the exhibition theme “Multiplicity” indicated, the exhibition shows the artist’s multi-dimensional perspective on the contemporary urban and social system.
  
  The modern people are easily found lost in frequent population flow, high-intensity living rhythms, ever-changing lifestyles, alienated social interactions, and so on. Undoubtedly, it is a common issue that any modern urban citizens has to deal with.
  
  Kevin Fung Lik-yan is more like a city observer. In his view, it is always interesting to observe a group of people compared to individuals living outside the community. As he said: “It seems inevitable that as city advances the population become increasingly heterogeneous but also polarised into extremes. Some behaves like a herd of animal, each one copying every moves and thoughts of the group while some in the opposite ends seek to live in solitude. ”
  
  He incorporated this kind of delicate observation of human into his own works. The small figures that often appear in suits and pants are his symbolic images, and the figures with blurred faces weaken the perception of individual images. The network structure is reminiscent of a complex social structure: people trapped by a layered network structure, just like the network of this society, criss-crossing the trivialities of each person's life and work.
  
  His works were shortlisted for the Hong Kong Arts Centre Thirtieth Anniversary Award in 2008, the 15th Hong Kong Art Biennial in 2005, “Visual Art Creates Tomorrow” Hong Kong Visual Art Competition in 1993, and the Philippe Charriol Foundation Art Competition in 1996 and 1999. Kevin Fung Lik-yan has participated in a number of local, mainland and overseas exhibitions. Widely displayed in many malls and public spaces across Hong Kong and Mainland China, his work is widely collected by collectors, institutions, colleges and museums.
  
  Ji Wenyu was born in Shanghai in 1959. Zhu Weibing was born in Heilongjiang in 1971. Their major exhibition include Urban Touch, Kunsthalle Faust, Hannover, Germany (2016), Follow! Follow! Follow!, ShangGART Gallery M50, Shanghai, China (2011), People Holding Flowers, ShangGART Gallery M50, Shanghai, China (2007).
  
  For the viewer, “popular” and “absurd”, “ironic” and “delightful” are the characteristics of Ji Wenyu & Zhu Weibing’s works of art. These characteristics are not only seen in Ji Wenyu’s paintings, but also in the soft sculptures co-created with Ji’s wife Zhu Weibing by cloth.
  
  From painting to soft sculpture, Ji Wenyu used "cloth" to find the challenge and breakthrough: "The cloth has its flawed side, but it also has charming features - casual, easygoing, warm, but not easy to be manipulated. It has its temperament and personality. It mixes all kinds of things together and offers infinite possibilities."
  
  Groups of “humanoid puppets” are the common artistic images of Ji Wenyu and Zhu Weibing’s soft sculptures. The memory of the special era of China is reproduced through these ordinary or dramatic scenes. The memory images of the special era continue to this day. In the second-floor space of Leo Gallery, the “humanoid puppets” offer the perspective of an ordinary person as well as the reflection of groups of people in the current society.
  
  Art critic and curator Feng Boyi once stated that the works of Ji Wenyu and Zhu Weibing let us feel direct visual pleasure. However, whenever we are immersed in the absurd scenes, we feel vividly the eccentricity of humanity, the ambiguity of living, and the questioning attitude of social reality: "The absurd way is that they set the context of their work in a dramatic structure and form, expressing The game0like and virtual reality of the rapidly changing Chinese society, while reflecting on the ideological background of 'whatever exists is absurd'."
  
  The artists present a multi-dimensional thinking of the current society in a humorous way. The sensitive approach brings the most vivid and sincere expressions. The works seem to be relaxed and casual, showing China's social transformations and cultural phenomenon during the process of modernization, as well as the loss and carnival, obsession and awakening, progress and regress of people in the past decades.
  
  The exhibition runs till 13 July.