紋身烏托邦 | 黃岩個展: 香港

2018年09月20日 - 12月5日

以皮膚和身體承載山水,提醒著我們中國的藝術遺產是每一個中國人生命中重要的部分,將身體與精神景觀進一步結合。在天人合一的《中國山水紋身》面世二十年後的今天,香港獅語画廊誠意呈獻被譽為是藝術家黃岩最具代表性和最獨特的攝影作品展 - 「紋身烏托邦」展覽。

 

是次展覽的十三幅攝影作品曾在北京中國美術館、巴黎羅浮宮及紐約大都會藝術博物館等展出,公眾可於9月21日至11月15日於香港獅語画廊仔細欣賞《中國山水紋身》的奧妙與風采。

 

早在九十年代初,黃岩意識到傳統藝術與當代藝術之間的緊密相連,認為兩者永遠不能被撕裂。從那時開始,他就突發奇想地在人臉上(1994)、在身體上(1995),最後在畫布上(1998)繪製傳統宋代和元代的山水景觀。他為圖像轉移到「人體畫布」上的想像空間感到震撼。從此之後,人體山水畫成為了現代語境中,以傳統藝術形式進行的一趟革命性重生,而這過程也使黃岩找到了時間倒流的藝術,和引發觀眾對古代文化與日常生活之關係的不斷思考和反省。

 

同期上海獅語画廊更將攜手呈獻黃岩的另一個個展《山水世界觀》, 藉此希望共同慶賀其作品對當代藝術史的重大貢獻。

Tattoo Utopia | Huang Yan Solo Exhibition: Hong Kong

20 September - 15 November 2018

Wearing landscapes on our skin and body reminds us the importance of Chinese artistic heritage in each and every Chinese people’s life. Two decades after Huang Yan has published the series “Chinese Shan-shui Tattoo”, which talked about harmonious interaction between human beings and nature, Leo Gallery Hong Kong is delighted to present to the Hong Kong audience this photography exhibition: “Tattoo Utopia”. This collection is also known as the most representative and unique works of artist Huang Yan.

 

Starting from 21 September to 15 November, public can appreciate 13 “Chinese Shan-shui Tattoo” unique photography artworks by Huang Yan. All these exquisite photographs have been exhibited in world-renowned museums such as National Art Museum of China in Beijing, Musee du Louvre in Paris and Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, just to name a few.

 

In the early 90s, Huang Yan realized that traditional art and contemporary art are deeply connected and can never be isolated. From that moment, he has started to paint Sung and Yuan Dynasty landscapes (“Shan-shui”) on human face (1994), on body (1995), and finally on canvas (1998). He was very awed by the unlimited room for imagination in the process of transferring image from paper to “human canvas”. After, landscape painting on human body caused a revolutionary rebirth of traditional art form in the modern context. During this process, Huang Yan found the art of turning back the clock, and the way to draw audiences’ attention towards the relationship between ancient culture and daily life.

 

At the same time, Leo Gallery Shanghai is holding another solo exhibition “The Shan-shui Worldview” of Huang Yan. We wish to celebrate together the great contribution of his works to the contemporary art history.