現像集納|蔡東東、雷磊、王寧德群展 | 策展人:顧錚: 香港

2019年09月25日 - 11月7日

香港獅語畫廊榮譽呈獻《現像·集納》圖像聯展。由中國目前最具影響力的攝影理論家、評論家及策展人顧錚策展,展覽將帶來三位屢獲殊榮的中國當代藝術家蔡東東雷磊王寧德共14件近期與最新作品。透過攝影雕塑、圖像拼貼及錄像,探索並挑戰圖像作為傳播媒介的認知與印象。 

展覽主題圍繞以「現成物」(Found object)為媒介的藝術實踐方式,顛覆藝術創作概念的假設限制,以及對於圖像認知的刻板印象,藉以探索圖像的新創作可能。展覽概念受先驅藝術家馬塞爾·杜尚和畢加索的創作所啟發,「現成物」的可能性已演變爲「現成像」(Found image)和「現成片段」(Found footage)等創作手法。

透過重塑圖片和及有關「圖片」的概念,以及採用「現成物」的創作方法,展出作品集中拓展了攝影的視覺範圍。在訊息圖像過量的時代,三位藝術家反而利用或摒棄現有圖片與物件所涵蓋的語境、壓力及幻象,賦予圖像、歷史、懷舊、人類集體行為和身份認同的全新視覺語言詮釋。

王寧德的「無名」系列,受中國各地拍攝到的城管們用塗料覆蓋「違法」和「不合適」的牆上塗鴉及遍佈四周的街頭海報所啟發,模糊不清的塗抹內容反而讓不為人知的故事痕跡更加明顯。透過以筆刷敘事及抽象元素構成的畫面,藝術家用圖片捕捉到清除訊息的實踐狀態,從而創造關於質疑與美學新的旅程。藝術家截取圖像中某些片段,通過電腦軟件製作出新的圖像,開拓想像空間,對圖像創作過程提出疑問。

蔡東東的四件裝置作品靈感源自藝術家多年收藏的老照片。透過使用現成物,作品中原有的圖像被延伸及重新放置。同時,將作品本身從平面轉化為立體空間。

作為中國新銳年輕藝術家之一,雷磊經常使用現有的素材創作。展出的《動勢》系列和《進行中》系列,圖像素材來自繪畫參考的攝影圖冊及冷戰時期的官方宣傳畫報《人民畫報》。這些圖像原本都在某個特定的語境中存在,擁有具體而明確的意義。經過藝術家的重新組合,圖像元素被融於全新的體系。隨著原本的意義消失,嶄新的圖像及對圖像意義的檢視由此產生。《照片回收》是由雷磊與法國藝術家及攝影圖像收藏家蘇文(Thomas Sauvin)共同合作的紀錄片,展示了蘇文收集老照片並重新編輯令作品再生的創作過程。紀錄片曾入選法國安錫國際動畫(Festival International du Film d'Animation d'Annecy),並於2013年荷蘭動畫電影節榮獲最佳動畫短片獎。

策展人顧錚表示「以『現成像』作為創作基礎,蔡東東、雷磊及王寧德的作品顛覆了藝術創作的概念。此次展覽匯聚各藝術家不同的創作手法,並為攝影圖像提供了新的可能性。」

Assembling Found Images | Cai Dongdong, Lei Lei, Wang Ningde Group Exhibition | Curated by Gu Zheng: Hong Kong

25 September - 7 November 2019

Leo Gallery Hong Kong is delighted to present Assembling Found Images, a group exhibition curated by Gu Zheng, one of China’s most influential photography theorists, critics and curators, and featuring three award-winning Chinese contemporary artists;Cai DongdongLei Lei  and Wang Ningde. The exhibition, which explores and challenges perceptions of photography as a medium, will showcase 14 recent and new works, encompassing photo sculpture, collage and video.

 

Thematically anchored in the artistic practice of working with found objects to explore new possibilities and subvert assumed restrictions around concepts of art production, the exhibition challenges perceptions of photography as a medium. Conceptually inspired by originators Marcel Duchamp and Pablo Picasso the use of found objectshas evolved into creation methods using the found image and found footage.

 

Through the reconstruction of images and the concept of ‘the image’, as well as the use of found objects, the works exhibited collectively extend the visual scope of photography. In an age of vast image and information overload the three artists in turn utilise or strip away the contexts, pressures and illusions embedded in existing images and objects to reveal new visual interpretations of the image, of history, nostalgia, collective human behaviour and identity. 

 

Wang Ningde’s No Nameseries is inspired by Chinese urban management officers who erase the content of ‘illicit’ and ‘inappropriate’ graffiti and fly-posting by painting over them. While the content is obscured the trace of a now untold story is still evident. Drawn by the dual power of the paintbrush to narrate and abstract, Ningde captured photographs of this state practice of erasing information to create a new journey of questioning and aesthetics. The artist selects fragments of the photographs using computer software to create a new picture, in doing so he broadens the imaginative space while questioning the processes of image production.

 

The four exhibited works by Cai Dongdong are installations inspired by his old photography collection. In each the meaning of Dongdong’s original image is extended or manipulated through the use of found objects, which at the same time transfer the work from a two-dimensional surface to a three-dimensional space. 

 

One of China’s leading young artists, Lei Leioften uses pre-existing material to create works. The artist’s collage Movementand Coming Soon series which will be shown in Assembling Found Imagesuse a photo album originally taken as reference points for painting, and China’s official pictorial propaganda from the cold war as their starting points respectively. The photos which each existed in a specific context with specific meanings are broken into smaller elements and combined into a new image system. As the original meaning is lost, a new meaning is gained and a new horizon for examining the meaning of images is created. Recycled, a documentary by Lei Lei and French artist and photography collector Thomas Sauvin will also be presented, showing the process both artists editing and giving new life to the old photographs which Sauvin collected and found in China. The film was selected by the Annecy animation festival and won the Grand Prix shorts - non-narrative at the Holland International Animation Film Festival in 2013.

 

‘By using the ‘found image’ as the basis for new creation the artists Cai DongdonLei Lei and Wang Ningde subvert the concept of art production. This exhibition brings together their individual approaches to the production of art and celebrates new possibilities for the photographic image’.

Gu Zheng – Exhibition curator