譚平,祖籍山東煙台,1960年出生於河北省承德市,1980年考入中央美術學院版畫系,1984年畢業並留校任教,1989至1994年獲得德國文化藝術交流獎學金(DAAD),留學柏林藝術大學自由繪畫系,獲碩士學位和Meisterschule 學位,1994至2002 年參與籌建中央美術學院設計系,擔任設計系主任,2002年出任設計學院院長一職,2003至2014年間擔任中央美術學院副院長。現為中國藝術研究院副院長。

 

 

從告別現實主義,走向抽象,再到向西方學習,然後向傳統回歸,譚平的藝術思想裡始終有兩個原點,一個是立足於西方現當代藝術形成的參照系,反觀抑或反省中國的文化傳統;另一個是從中國當代藝術的文化邏輯與藝術史上下文關係出發,與西方拉開距離,形成個人化的修辭與表述,並建立自己的方法論。在西方與東方,現代與傳統所形成的張力中,譚平在尋找屬於自己的切入角度,在不斷地探索,不斷地實驗;不追求賦予作品太多的意義,反而是不斷地“淨化”,不斷地做“減法”,在至簡至純的風格變化中,日臻進入一種非常個人化的境界。

 

 

作品被國內外重要美術館、博物館收藏,包括中國美術館,上海美術館,今日美術館,波特蘭美術館,路德維希博物館,科靈現代繪畫美術館,亞利桑那州立大學美術館等。

Tan Ping 譚平

Tan Ping, family origin in Yantai of Shandong, was born in Chengde City of Hebei Province in 1960 and was admitted through exams to the Printmaking Department of China Central Academy of Fine Arts in 1980. He graduated in 1984 and stayed at the Academy to teach. From 1989 to 1994, sponsored by Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst (DAAD) scholarship, he studied at the Department of Free Painting of Berlin University of the Arts and received Master' s Degree and Meisterschule Degree. From 1994 to 2002, he took part in preparing the start-up of Department of Design of China Central Academy of Fine Arts and became the director of the department. In 2002, he became the Dean of the School of Design and Vice President of the China Central Academy of Fine Arts from 2003 to 2014. Currently he is Vice President of Chinese National Academy of Arts. 

 

From realism to abstract art, then learning from the West and taking a retrospective path to the tradition, there are two points of origin exist in his artistic ideas. The first one is the reference system emerged from a standpoint in modern and contemporary western art that reflects on or rethinks the cultural traditions of China, while the another one takes context of cultural logic and art history of Chinese contemporary art in distant from the West to formulate individualized linguistics and expressions and to establish one’s own methodology. Within the tension of the West versus the East and modernism versus tradition, Tan Ping is searching for an entry point of his own through constant explorations and experiments. Instead of endowing with too many ideas on the works, he has constantly aimed at "purification" and "deduction". He has entered the state of extraordinary individuality in simple and pure style.

 

His works are collected by major galleries and museums in China and abroad, including the National Art Museum of China, Shanghai Art Museum, Today Art Museum, Portland Art Museum, Museum Ludwig, Kolding Museum of Modern Art and Arizona State University Art Museum, etc.